Via Dolorosa means Way of Sorrow. It is a processional path which winds through the Muslim Quarter to the Christian Quarter of the Old City of Jerusalem. It is believed to be the route where Jesus carried the cross to Golgotha, the site of the crucifixion. There are 14 scriptural and traditional Stations of the Cross from the Antonia Fortress to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre which contains the last five stations. The Via Dolorosa has been a place of Christian pilgrimage for centuries. On Fridays pilgrims continue to carry crosses along the path, praying at each station.

Via Dolorosa

Via Dolorosa

Via Dolorosa Jerusalem , Israel

751m / 2464ft above sea level (altitude)


Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy

No Comments